The Hind's Head
Mon-Sat 11-11, Sun 2-3, 7-10.30
The Hind's Head
An imposing red-brick inn dating from 1630, popular as an overnight stop for business travellers.
It offers a varied and ever-changing menu of good food.
Evidence of a former brewery can be seen, and the inn even has its own lock-up, last used in 1865. The Hinds Head is believed to be descended from a 15 century inn. It was know as a Posting Inn because the London to Bath Road and the Basingstoke to Oxford Road came through the village.
The Earl of Manchester stayed at the house while his troops camped in the grounds during the Civil War, between Oliver Cromwells Roundheads and King Charles II's cavaliers, in the 1650s.
In 1800 the Inn became The Congreve Arms, after the Lord of the Manor Ralph Congreve.
The Hinds Head also has its own 'lock up' behind the Inn, last used in 1865 when a poor sole burnt himself to death.
There is a brewhouse out back, but alas it doesn't brew.
The Hind's Head was purchased by Fullers, so the beer range now reflects their range of real ales.
Well worth a visit.
The Hinds Head serves food with a range of French, English, and Vegetarian dishes. Meals are cooked to order from a regularly changing menu. The Hind serves Sunday lunch with a choice of two roasts served with Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes and three traditional vegetables.
There is accommodation here.
View Beerguide Map in a larger map
Bad experience xmas/new year period for a number of guests that we had suggested Hind's Head as a place to stay. On 28/12/00 unable to get access to booked accommodation until 18.00 and had to vacate rooms by 09.30 next morning with children and hangovers (obtained elsewhere) - will not be repeated. (Paul)